What's Good This Season

W E L C O M I N G // J U N E

What’s the Scoop?

Dearest Reader,

Growing up, my dad was always able to fix most anything, with a little bit of thought and definitely some duct tape. To this day, my dad is still a very large inspiration for continued learning, creativity & discovery. After retiring from his own business after decades, my dad went back to school! I admire how he has he doesn’t push himself to learn, but craves it so much so, that he goes and finds it wherever he can get it. Stay curious & check out some of these rad father-owned businesses to support this Father’s Day!

June is also National Indigenous History Month. If you have not seen our latest feature on the Pacheedaht First Nations Owned + Operated Soule Creek Adventure Lodge, they are an incredible business putting in the thoughtful work to provide not just an experience, but a cultural introduction, discover + experience of their people, their lands & their ways.

PS Stay tuned for a blog post diving into Indigenous Owned island businesses later this month!

Thanks for being here & thanks for being What’s Good.

With Local Love,
Sam + the What’s Good YYJ team

~ What’s Good Monthly Forecast // J U N E ~

June always feels like a sense of freedom has arrived to the party. There’s something about going to the beach and sitting in the sand with strangers that makes you feel a sense of human-ness and somehow, a sense of self too.

As the days work themselves up to the longest day of light we will see this year, that momentum feels contagious. Drive, passion, curiosity and creativity all linger in the golden hour air that lasts for hours now.

June brings us wonder, adventure, laughter, knowledge and a keen mindset. Soak it up.

Vibes: pinks and creams and strawberry shortcake dreams, passion, creativity, boundless freedom.

The sunshine is out, the community is alive with curiosity, and we have our cameras on our hips ready to shoot! If you are in need of a new Headshot, Branding Session or just in need of updated photography, give us a shout! Let’s bring your vision to life.
INQUIRE TO SET UP A PHOTOSHOOT HERE!

~ What’s Happening This Month ~

Every Friday Evening at Langford Station
Kick off every Friday this summer at The Langford Station to support the Hanmade Market! Enjoy vibrant evenings filled with craft beer, live music & bustling local market.

Saturday & Sunday
June 8th & 9th and
June 15th & 16th
at The Market Square
Explore slow fashion and support local when shopping from over 20+ vendors at this fun, stylish market! PS food vendors, DJ’s, + change room available on site.

Saturday, July 13th at Banfield Park
Savour local Dungeness Crab, corn, potatoes, clams, prawns, fresh bread, & butter at the 2024 CrabFest located in Vic West. Click the link below to reserve your bucket today!

Explore more events on our Community Calendar.
Want to see your local event showcased on What’s Good?
APPLY HERE.

~ A Super Secret ~  

From Sam’s Brain

It’s my birthday month and I am fortunate enough to go pick up my sister for a whole week to travel, photograph, and explore parts of British Columbia’s mainland. Despite having a really (really) fun job and despite getting to go and see the world for it, there is a lot of unseen planning, coordinating, dreading, hoping and wishing that goes into its entirety. As I sit in Gigi’s Café in Vancouver, BC though, awaiting my sister’s plane to touch down, sipping on a warm hug Canadian’s call a London Fog, I am overwhelmed with excitement for this trip. I have yet to be away for more than a week since What’s Good’s conception and it is most certainly time to loosen the grip on my everyday life and reconnect with my own story behind it all. I believe it is important, for any artist let alone individual, to re-evaluate if what I am communicating is what I hope to actually share about myself, my moments, and my very human history.

With Local Love, Sam